15
Nov
10

There Is A Place

There is a place where every one of us is whole
Yet each of us strives to find it

There is a place where each of us is full up
And yet we empty ourselves searching desperately for it

There is a place where we are satisfied, contented
And yet we will not cease to rest until we have looked under every stone in search of our own satiation

Will enough ever be enough?

There is a place where each of us is truly beautiful
And yet we scar ourselves immeasurably trying to uncover some deeply hidden ideal

There is a place where each of us has something important to say
And yet we constantly silence ourselves so as not to offend, in order to fit into society’s mold

There is a place where each of us revels in the beautiful silence
And yet day in and day out we scream and shout to be heard…noticed

There is a place where each of us strives to stand out, to be lauded for our innovation, our unique talents
And yet, every day we hide in the safety of our anonymity, and dumb ourselves down to stay there

There is a place where each of us is courageous and strong, a single brave knight
And yet every day we fall further into the familiar womb of fear and loathing

How will anything of import ever be accomplished in these obsessive oxymorons?

One small step
One small breath

Breathe in
Breathe out
Breathe
Breathe

This time I want to for me, because I matter
Not because I care what you think
Not even because I care what I think

Because I matter

Because I have something to contribute, and I damn well better be around to throw it in the pot
Investing in myself is the best gift I can give to the world
Making myself a better person is the biggest contribution I can make

I will not be small
You (I) will be awed by the largeness of me

I will not hide
You (I) will be amazed by how present I am

I will not shut down to make things easier or more comfortable for you
You (I) will be astounded at how I really feel

I will not shut up
You (I) will be touched by my voice and the message it carries

I hope you will join me.
I welcome your company.

6 Responses to “There Is A Place”


  1. 1 Kiah
    November 15, 2010 at 6:00 am

    I said this once on twitter already, but I figured I should maybe write one here as well =] I’m not quite sure why, but this really hits me at this current moment in time. ‘Will enough ever be enough?’ in particular stands out…things with family and friends are kinda getting me down. But you’re rad, cause then you came along and posted this and it kinda made my evening a bit better, so for that, I thank you.

    Keep up the wonderful work, I always enjoy reading your blogs ❀

  2. 3 louise
    November 15, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    Sara,

    I am at work today and have just spent the best part of the last hour reading through all of your blogs. Yes, Im working hard huh? πŸ™‚ Not even really sure why I feel I need to leave a comment except that I loved reading your thoughts you have shared with us, and as serious as some of them are you can still make us laugh.

    I did read your previous blog and not sure at that point why I didnt notice I could read through all the other entries. Must have been in a hurry, rushing through my everyday life of checking things off the list (email being one of a thousand) and maybe because for some reason not taking the time then, opened the door for me to notice and take the time today when I am not in a whirlwind to read and take in all that you have said. It was alot and gave me a few smiles and alot to think about.

    You have been through so much in the past year and there is a big difference in the tone of your blogs last year to this year, although your humour shines through in all of them. The entry that sticks with me is the one on June 17th about the decision to sell your house or not. That one is hard to read.

    On Twitter during Thanksgiving you sounded more at peace and seemed like you had done alot of reflecting. No matter how hard things have become for you, you seem to have this amazing abililty to get down to the nitty gritty of understanding what it all boils down to, and how you can use this to help you get through it. You always find something funny about it all. Your ability as a writer to express your thoughts is envious.

    Thanks Sara…..

    And heres to one day being able to tap dance naked on the desk of whomever you choose, just because you can…… :))

  3. November 24, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    This is beautiful Sara! Wishing you a really lovely and peaceful thanksgiving – πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

other stuff you might dig

Join 22 other followers

Twitterrifficness

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Because I’m Anal About Organization. Seriously.

Stuff I’ve Written About Before


